Articles

don’t blow away

In kindred on March 5, 2007 by carinasuyin

“Iris, in the movies, we have leading ladies and we have the best friend. You, I can tell, are a leading lady, but for some reason, you’re behaving like the best friend.” Haihhh… we both sighed loudly for the umpteenth time in the lazy afternoon. Pohf and me were sprawled on the sofa; Pohf was almost dehyrated from drooling over Jude Law while I was busy mulling over the analogy of the best friend versus the leading lady. Outside, the overcast skies threatened to pour over Melaka. Earlier at the hospital, I had to hold back giggles while Pohf got “harassed” by an enamoured semi-cuckoo patient at the pharmacy. That would have made a super hilarious meet-cute had the Ken Watanabe-lookalike not been mentally unstable.

It was a delightful weekend with Pohf, with a dose of much-needed sampat-ness for the both of us! The drama-filled weekend had started with a performance of suicidal flustered rats as we had delicious claypot ee mee laksa and coffee on Friday evening. Yup, no men… it had to rain rodents instead! By Saturday night, I had discovered the secret to delayed aging; I believe it has to do with staring at babies all day long. Hanging out with four doctors made for a very entertaining evening indeed. Conversation topics ranged from the Godfather (running naked and his blunder-ful kuncu-kuncu), fingers, sleeping patterns, multiple sustained orgasms, the effects of alcohol, Check Throat, and babies, to sex-deprived doctors, as we devoured roti john, asam pedas, ayam golek, and nasi goreng, followed by coffee, croquettes and the yummiest coffee mille crepe from Nadeje. I was congratulated heartily for unwittingly spiking Pohf’s bottle of orange juice on the first day of 2007. Hee… The movie weekend then continued with The Pursuit of Happyness which left hopeless me drenched in tears each time Will Smith cried. Poor Pohf slept through most of it; zombied out from a bad case of hair dye contact dermatitis which had her wishing to be decapitated. Half of Sunday was spent gleefully plotting Evie’s romantic rendezvous with Peng Swee before we finally dragged ourselves out of bed for lunch in town.

As the bus pulled away from Melaka Sentral, I thought of all the conversations Pohf and I had during meals, walking up and down Jonker Walk, in the car, late into the night, and with Evie over the speakerphone. It’s great to have dear friends who are not afraid to be corny, friends who find each other’s silliness endearing and friends who embrace being young at heart. As Iris said in The Holiday, “I like corny. I’m looking for corny in my life.”, sometimes a little corniness is truly chicken soup for the soul… *grins*

4 Responses to “don’t blow away”

  1. and on the other hand, you also have friends who are not afraid to say,

    “OI Beeaatchhhh! Where’s my drink? Come all the way to singapore and you want me to drink tap water is it?! Go fix me a glass of JD coke. Hold the coke.”

    *the imaginary monologue above is COMING SOON next week, to a HDB flat near you*

  2. Muahahaha… try calling me that for real and there will only be freeflow milo, coffee and orange juice on the house for you 😛
    Yeay… clubbin’ time 🙂

  3. Th HOliday…..Nice movie… 😉

  4. Not that I’m impressed a lot, but this is a lot more than I expected when I stumpled upon a link on Digg telling that the info here is awesome. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

