Articles

wafting incense

In kindred on February 24, 2007 by carinasuyin

The Chinese New Year Mandarin mass was really meaningful. Supra and me were delighted that the mass readings had English translations projected and that Father Philip made a special effort to explain the ancestral commemoration rites in English as well. I wonder which other church would have a Chinese traditional rite of lighting joss sticks and offering flowers, fruits and wine at the altar for Chinese New Year. It was an awesome warm feeling participating in the rite and appreciating its significance. `Twas also exactly how I felt when I noticed Atah lighting joss sticks for Amah at the ancestral altar upon entering Second Uncle’s house in Muar when we went visiting.

I’m also thinking of the little bible quote in the angpow I got from that lovely mass last weekend. It’s from the Proverbs and goes something about being wise and letting my heart be directed in the way. Evie says that according to Chinese astrology, this year spells good career prospects for those born in the year of the Sheep. I sure hope so. So I need to be wise. My heart needs to be wise. Heh.

This year is indeed heralding the beginning of the water cycle in the lunar calendar. It rained on the eve of Chinese New Year, on Day Two, Day Three and daily evening showers everyday since. Today on Day Seven, it rained all day long. Not that I’m complaining because the weather’s really nice and cool but it is still weird, because the last time it was a rainy Chinese New Year was too long ago for me to remember. Perhaps like Atah said, the pig really wants a bath!

Chocolate chip, macadamia and peanut cookies sit in three plastic containers in front of me, all sudah dirasmikan happily by me. Half of the rendang and all of the meat spring rolls that Mama and Atah packed for me were already gone. I’m trying to ration Supra’s delicious carrot cake with cream cheese frosting so that it will last another two more days. I miss watching Miami Ink with Supra at 2 a.m. in the mornings, baking cookies with Mama and going bowling with Atah. I miss hanging out with the beloved gang. I miss being silly while chatting with Sugeo and seeing Aalen’s toasty snow-less winter from his window via the webcam.

The wind carries incense smell from burning joss sticks into the hall, along with the fragrance of wet grass. I am reminded of so much that I’m missing. Oh, I’m really missing home…

7 Responses to “wafting incense”

  1. Ada orang sudah homesick teruk. Kan baru balik? Aduh…KRONIK betul. Hahaha…

  2. Post-balik kampung depression lah ni… πŸ™‚

  3. Happy Chinese New Year!!!~
    Gong Xi fa Chai!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    πŸ˜€

  4. Happy Chinese New Year, Elaine!!
    Ada dapat banyak angpau? πŸ˜€

  5. Me and sis and mum went back kampung and collected alot of ang pau’s!!!!more than last year! Che Che used most (i think) of her ang pau money and bought lots of dress and shoes the next day when we came back home…hehehehe she SSOOO happy πŸ™‚

    What bout you???

  6. Not too bad… I’m grateful I’m still eligible to receive them!!

  7. oh ya…. soon you and my sis will hav to join santa and start giving out things. The only difference is you are giving out money not presents… πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

