Articles

poetry on the wall

In arty crafty on January 22, 2007 by carinasuyin

The Ramayana tells the story of Prince Rama of Ayodhya who battles Ravana, the demon king of Lanka in order to rescue his kidnapped wife, Sita. Along the way, he is aided by Lord Hanuman, a vanara from the kingdom of Kishkinda, and many other cool characters like Jatayu the garuda-like eagle. It remains one of my favourite stories, having first read it as a ten year-old from among the pages of Childcraft’s Myths and Legends. And so it was that when I was looking at Tum’s colourful art pieces displayed on a sidewalk in Kanchanaburi one hot afternoon, the one piece that I had to bring home was the sole one that depicted a scene from the Sanskrit epic tale of adventure, morality and Hindu teachings.

I love how the vivid colours and intricate patterns combine to make the chariot look like it is ablaze. The whole piece was painstakingly carved from a piece of cow’s hide using just a hammer, a nail and a blade, and the colours painted with dye. This afternoon while spring cleaning my room, I chanced upon an unused frame belonging to the landlady which was an exact fit for Tum’s beautiful piece. Now it hangs nicely on my bedroom wall and delights me to no end.

5 Responses to “poetry on the wall”

  1. it looks really nice framed up on the wall 🙂

  2. Hi SU YIN!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀 Cool art! I might come visit you guys during feb 😉 Hope i can enjoy the real thing when i visit…hehehehe…

  3. tim: Yeah, it does!

    PrincessE: Elaineeeeeeeee! Sure thing! 😀

  4. This is a really nice artwork based on an interesting story. I actually managed to find a really old copy of it in one my secondary school library (not sure which school, I’ve been in 4 secondary schools altogether), together with Nordic myths and Greek legends. Really surprised that the Islamists in our schools haven’t burned them up yet, but I digress.

    Anyway, when I was reading these books, I thought I chanced upon common parts among them that were really similar but which I can’t recall now. Parts of these myths had such similarities that I wonder if there wasn’t a common source among them in the past.

  5. Sooth: Cool observation! Myths and legends across cultures of the world do tend to share common themes, especially about creation, virtues and the element of change/metamorphosis in a person. Some also draw heavily from a common source, for example elements of the Ramayana can be found in cultures with Hindu influences e.g. oral traditions and folklore of Southeast Asian countries. 🙂

Leave a Reply

